Scott Pruett to race in the Rolex 24 at Daytona.

Scott Pruett leads a large group of northern California race car drivers in this weekend’s Rolex 24 at Daytona. The veteran driver has won the 24 Hours at Daytona 3 times, in 1994, 2007 and 2008. Pruett, last years Grand-Am Rolex Champion along with Memo Rojas, will team with Memo, Joey Hand from Sacramento, and Graham Rahal. The race takes place at the 3.56-mile, 12-turn speedway road course at the Daytona International Speedway in Daytona Beach, Florida. The race begins Saturday the 29th at 3:30 ET and ends Sunday at 3:30 ET.

Scott Pruett - 2010 Grand-Am Rolex Sports Car Series Champion

It is the first race in the Grand-Am Rolex Sports Car Series. It has 2 classes: the exotic Daytona Prototypes and the production-based GT cars that run simultaneously on the track. This race attracts lots of celebrities and some of the best drivers in the world from all forms of racing (including Patrick Dempsey, Dario Franchitti, Juan Pablo Montoya, Jimmie Johnson and Boris Said). Each team consists of three or four drivers.

Patrick Dempsey (File photo courtesy of the Grand-Am Rolex Sports Car Series)

The Speed Channel will begin coverage with a preview show on Friday the 28th at 7pm PT and again on Saturday at 11am PT. Race coverage starts Saturday at 12pm PT and Sunday at 6am PT.

Jimmie Johnson & Patrick Dempsey at the Rolex 24 at Daytona (Photo courtesy of of the Grand-Am Rolex Sports Car Series)

Here a list of the Northern California Drivers entered in the 2011 Rolex 24 at Daytona along with links to their websites:

Daytona Prototype (DP)

Scott Pruett – Auburn, CA
Joey Hand – Sacramento, CA
Seth Neiman – Woodside, CA
Johannes van Overbeek – San Francisco, CA
Matt Bell – Los Altos, CA
Henri Richard – Los Altos Hills, CA

Scott Pruett's No. 01 TELMEX/Target BMW/Riley

Gran Touring (GT)

Max Hyatt – San Jose, CA
Justin Marks – Rocklin, CA
Dane Cameron – Sonoma, CA
Memo Gidley – Novato, CA
Coulter Mulligan – San Francisco, CA
Jonathan Bomarito – Monterey, CA

Boris Said will drive the #94 Turner Motorsports BMW M3 in the GT class.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *