Big Weekend of Racing at Roseville’s All American Speedway

Here is a preview of the 2011 Toyota Napa Auto Parts 150 weekend prepared by Steve Blakesley of Blakesley Sports Media.

We called last year’s TOYOTA / NAPA Auto Parts 150 the most competitive field in event history, but the 12th appearance of the NASCAR K&N Pro Series, West at All American Speedway has attracted a record 30 entries including 10 teenagers and three drivers making their series debuts. The championship has been decided with Greg Pursley clinching the title while his teammate Dylan Kwasniewski has put the wraps on rookie of the year as well. With both 2011 crowns decided, Saturday’s race will almost serve more as a preview to the 2012 campaign.

The SRL SPEARS Southwest Tour and Legends of the Pacific will also be in action on Saturday night while Late Models and Modifieds will race on Friday.

Coverage schedule:

Friday October 14 with Jeff Bye Jr. on the keys

5:30 p.m. – RACELINE LIVE! text coverage of the Late Models and Modifieds with qualifying underway

Features to begin at 8:45 p.m.

Saturday October 15 with Jeff Bye, Jr. on the keys

Noon – Limited RACELINE LIVE! text coverage begins of practice sessions for all divisions

4:40 p.m. – Qualifying for all divisions, Legends and SRL races

6:30 p.m. – Radio coverage of the SRL “World’s Champion 140”

8:40 p.m. – Steven Blakesley and Tim Quievrn on the call of the NASCAR “TOYOTA / NAPA Auto Parts 150” at

The contenders:

Jacob Gomes – The 2010 NASCAR Whelen All-American Series rookie of the year is driving a potent car for John Gomez making him an easy favorite to challenge the series regulars.

Jason Fensler – Although he drives for the low budget Team Cass Racing, it didn’t keep him from winning the race at Roseville in April which saw one of the best finishes in series history.

Eric Holmes – The three-time series champion has been red hot after a slow start, teaming up with championship crew chief Ty Joiner halfway through the season moving up to third in points.

Dylan Kwasniewski – This will be the 16 year-old rookie’s second start at Roseville and after a lot of success in the spring he definitely has a shot at the win.

Greg Pursley – Although he has never run all that well at All American Speedway, it’s hard to bet against the 2011 series champion for a good run.

Moses Smith – He has never won a race in the series but Bill McAnally Racing has always been strong at this track. Smith had a career best second place finish at Roseville in the spring.

Derek Thorn – Saturday’s race will mark his fifth career start in the series but he is already a veteran at running up front including a pole position at the All-Star Showdown.

Jason Fensler from Elk Grove won the race in April driving the Team Cass Racing No. 59 Chevrolet.

Outside chance:

Jessica Brunelli – 2009 All American Speedway Modified rookie of the year has never won a Late Model or Modified feature but will be racing for Mike Naake who had a top-five in the spring with Eric Schmidt at the wheel.

Cameron Hayley – 15 year-old rookie driver has finished second in both series starts for Bill McAnally Racing with crew chief Rob Dixon, but has only made one start at Roseville and that was in a Late Model.

Dylan Lupton – Young rookie driver finished fourth in TOYOTA Speedway Late Model points in 2011 and is making his second series start but first start with Bill McAnally Racing.

Luis Martinez – Driving as a teammate to Derek Thorn and nearly winning the spring race should make Martinez a favorite but he is departing the series after this year and it is yet to be seen if pairing with Thorn is a success.

Michael Self – The RCR development driver has shown flashes of brilliance throughout 2011 in the series but will need a strong performance against the tough field.

Matt Scott – 2010 & 2011 track champion has 17 wins in a Late Model at All American Speedway but Saturday will be his first career start in the series.

Brett Thompson – Although he hasn’t had overwhelming success this year, it is impossible to count out the well-funded and well-prepared program that Thompson has.

Other cars to watch: Chad Boat, Daryl Harr, Braeden Havens, Dylan Hutchison, Jim Inglebright, Andrew Murray, Ryan Philpott.

To order tickets, please visit:

For information on sponsor Pick-n-Pull, a Northern California based company and one of the largest auto and truck dismantlers in the country, please visit their website at:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *